IPL Winners List 2008-2018

The (IPL) is a domestic, annual Twenty20 cricket tournament in India, organized by the IPL Governing Council, under the aegis of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is the most watched Twenty20 tournament and the second-best paying sporting league globally. IPL was established in 2008 and currently consists of eight teams in eight cities across India. The inaugural IPL season was won by Rajasthan Royals. As of May 2017, there have been ten seasons of the IPL tournament, with the latest IPL season conducted from April to May 2017, which was won by Mumbai Indians.

IPL Governing Council

The IPL Governing Council is responsible for all the functions of the tournament. The members are Rajeev Shukla, Ajay Shirke, Sourav Ganguly, Anurag Thakur and Anirudh Chaudhary. In January 2016, the Supreme Court appointed Lodha Committee to recommend separate governing bodies for the Board of Control for Cricket in India  and the Indian Premier League , where Justice RM Lodha suggested a One State-One Member pattern for the board.

Team Brand Value in US$
Mumbai Indians 106 million
Kolkata Knight Riders 99 million
Royal Challengers Bangalore 88 million
Sunrisers Hyderabad 56 million
Delhi Daredevils 44 million
Kings XI Punjab

IPL Winners List

The IPL Winners List rights were originally held by a partnership between Sony Pictures Networks and World Sport Group, under a ten-year contract valued at US$1.026 billion. Sony would be responsible for domestic television, while WSG would handle international distribution.The initial plan was for 20% of these proceeds to go to the IPL, 8% as prize money and 72% would be distributed to the franchisees from 2008 until 2012, after which the IPL would go public and list its shares.[66] However, in March 2010, IPL decided not to go public and list its shares. As of the 2016 season, Sony MAX, Sony SIX, and Sony ESPN served as the domestic broadcasters of the IPL; MAX and SIX aired broadcasts in Hindi, while SIX also aired broadcasts in the Bengali, Tamil, and Telugu languages. Sony ESPN broadcast English-language feeds.

Global media rights to the IPL

On 4 September 2017, it was announced that the then-current digital rights holder, Star India (a subsidiary of 21st Century Fox), had acquired the global media rights to the IPL under a five-year contract beginning in 2018. Valued at ₹16,347.5 crore (₹163.475 billion, US$2.55 billion, £1.97 billion), it is a 158% increase over the previous deal, and the most expensive broadcast rights deal in the history of cricket. The IPL sold the rights in packages for domestic television, domestic digital, and international rights; although Sony held the highest bid for domestic television, and Facebook had made an US$600 million bid for domestic digital rights (which U.S. media interpreted as a sign that the social network was interested in pursuing professional sports rights), Star was the only bidder out of the shortlist of 14 to make bids in all three categories.

Star CEO Uday Shankar

Star CEO Uday Shankar stated that the IPL was a “very powerful property”, and that Star would “remain very committed to make sure that the growth of sports in this country continues to be driven by the power of cricket”. He went on to say that “whoever puts in that money, they put in that money because they believe in the fans of the sport. The universe of cricket fans, it tells you, continues to very healthy, continues to grow. What was paid in 2008, that was 2008. India and cricket and IPL (IPL Winners List)—all three have changed dramatically in the last 10 years. It is a reflection of that.” The deal led to concerns that Star India now held a monopoly on cricket rights in the country, as it is also the right shoulder of ICC competitions and the Indian national team.

IPL Winners List All Time 2008 – 2018

IPL Winners List

IPL  All Season Results – IPL Winners List

Season Final Stadium Number of teams Player of the series
Winner Winning margin Runner-up
IPL Winner
Rajasthan Royals
164/7 (20 overs)
Won by 3 wickets Chennai Super Kings
163/5 (20 overs)
DY Patil Stadium 8 Australia Shane Watson
IPL Winner
Deccan Chargers
143/6 (20 overs)
Won by 6 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
137/9 (20 overs)
Wanderers Stadium
(Johhanesburg, South Africa)
8 Australia Adam Gilchrist
IPL Winner
Chennai Super Kings
168/5 (20 overs)
Won by 22 runs Mumbai Indians
146/9 (20 overs)
DY Patil Stadium 8 India Sachin Tendulkar
IPL Winner
Chennai Super Kings
205/5 (20 overs)
Won by 58 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
147/8 (20 overs)
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 10 Jamaica Chris Gayle
IPL Winner
Kolkata Knight Riders
192/5 (19.4 overs)
Won by 5 wickets Chennai Super Kings
190/3 (20 overs)
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 9 Trinidad and Tobago Sunil Narine


IPL Winner

Mumbai Indians
148/9 (20 overs)
Won by 23 runs Chennai Super Kings
125/9 (20 overs)
Eden Gardens 9 Australia Shane Watson


IPL Winner

Kolkata Knight Riders
200/7 (20 overs)
Won by 3 wickets Kings XI Punjab
199/4 (20 overs)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 8 Australia Glenn Maxwell
IPL Winner
Mumbai Indians
202/5 (20 overs)
Won by 41 runs Chennai Super Kings
161/8 (20 overs)
Eden Gardens 8 Jamaica Andre Russell
IPL Winner
Sunrisers Hyderabad
208/7 (20 overs)
Won by 8 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
200/7 (20 overs)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 8 India Virat Kohli


IPL Winner

Mumbai Indians
129/8 (20 overs)
Won by 1 run Rising Pune Supergiant
128/6 (20 overs)
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium 8 England Ben Stokes


IPL Winner

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)181/2 (18.3) Won By 2 Wickets Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH)179/6 (20) Wankhede Stadium Mumbai 8 IndiaSunil Narine

View More